Story of Gideon

Today I heard the story of a man named Gideon and his courage.

Before starting, I’ll start with the story of what happened to the Israelites.
Basically, the Israelites were being bad and disobeyed God. What they were doing was evil in God’s eyes and God basically gave them into the hands of the Midian for seven years. (Judges 6:1-3 “1 The people of Israel did what was evil in the sight of the Lord, and the Lord gave them into the hand of Midian seven years. 2 And the hand of Midian overpowered Israel, and because of Midian the people of Israel made for themselves the dens that are in the mountains and the caves and the strongholds. 3 For whenever the Israelites planted crops, the Midianites and the Amalekites and the people of the East would come up against them.”)

Just as the verse says, the Israelites were weak and powerless in the hands of the Midian. They were so scared of the Midian that they hid in the mountains and caves. Also, whenever the Israelites planted crops and had food and supplies, the Midian stormed over the land and took everything in sight and leave a barren land. (Judges 6:4-6 “4 They would encamp against them and devour the produce of the land, as far as Gaza, and leave no sustenance in Israel and no sheep or ox or donkey. 5 For they would come up with their livestock and their tents; they would come like locusts in number – both they and their camels could not be counted – so that they laid waste the land as they came in. 6 And Israel was brought very low because of Midian. And the people of Israel cried out for help to the Lord.”)

God assured the Israelites that He is their (the Israelites’) God and that they should not fear the Amorites, and that they were in this situation because disobeyed God. (Judges 6:10 “And I said to you, ‘I am the Lord your God; you shall not fear the gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell.’ But you have not obeyed my voice.”) Even so, God helped the Israelites because of their cry and His mercy.

Now, here comes Gideon. Gideon is a coward. He was one of the biggest cowards ever. Even Gideon himself said so. In Judges 6:15, Gideon states, “[…] my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.”

Even so, God chose Gideon. Where Gideon saw cowardice and weakness, God saw strength and courage. God chose Gideon to save the Israelites and even said in Judges 6:14 “And the Lord turned to him and said, ‘Go in this might of yours and save Israel from the hand of Midian; do not I send you?”

I’m sure I won’t need to continue to tell you what happened.

God was with Gideon throughout the whole thing. Gideon showed strength and courage that he didn’t know he had and saved the Israelites from the hands of the Midian.

The reason why I am posting this story of Gideon is that I was I reminded that no matter what I thought of myself, no matter how negative I view myself, God is always there for me. In God’s eyes, I am beautiful and He loves me because I am his daughter. In God’s eyes, I am wonderful and capable of so much more than I think. He knows I can do great things, it’s just now my turn to take charge and believe in myself as much as God believes in me.

This goes for everybody else, and even you. God has great thing planned for us. He has plans because He knows that we are capable and He knows we are able to do great things. To God, we are beautiful and will always love us.

I hope today’s post gave you courage, hope, and/or faith.

As always, thank you for reading and I hope you have a blessed day.

 

Please do not use my blog content for your own benefit/purpose/reason. Please do not use my blog’s content without permission. If you would like to use some of the content, please ask for my permission and give me credit. Thank you!

*I’m sorry for grammatical mistakes.*

*image is from Google images*

Matthew 5:13 – 16 “13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. 14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead, they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Leave a Reply

