Are You Happy Living Your Life as a Christian?

Once, someone asked me, are you happy with your Christian life?

By that question, they were asking me if I was satisfied and happy with my life as Christian. If I was content living my life as a Christian.

Without hesitation, without a second thought, I said yes.

Then I asked if they were satisfied living their life as a Christian, and the answer for them was no (not a super firm no, but a no.).

I asked them why they didn’t wish to live their life as a Christian?

This was their answer. “I am jealous of the lives secular people live. I want to be able to do the things I wish without feeling guilty. I want to be free and not feel ashamed when I want to have fun. I also feel like I’m not a good Christian…I don’t feel like I deserve to go to church.” (Wording isn’t exact, but goes something like this.)

I thought about what this person said, and was kind of stumped on how to respond. I am generally happy and love living my life as a Christian. I grew up in a Christian household, so naturally, I was basically a Christian since the day I was born, or some would even say I was Christian while I was developing in my mother’s womb. I am comfortable, familiar, and happy with my Christian lifestyle and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I never questioned my faith, or why I was Christian, and why I believed in my faith as much as I did. I was never jealous of others who weren’t and aren’t Christians, and never felt the need to do anything that was against my faith/religion.

A few days passed, and I asked myself the question that person asked me. Am I happy living my life as a Christian? Am I happy devoting my life to God?

My answer firmly still stays the same as before. Without hesitation, without a second thought, my answer is, yes.

Without hesitation, without a second thought, my answer is, yes. (I will answer why in a later blog.)

Then I realized that there are probably many Christians out there who are not satisfied, content, happy about living their life as a Christian. Then my question to those Christians is, why? Why are you not happy about living your life as a Christian?

Is it because you want to be able to get blackout drunk and not feel guilty? Do you want to be able to experience sex before marriage? Do you not want to go to church or you don’t feel like there is a real purpose in church? Or maybe, it’s because you feel like you don’t deserve to go to church?

I’m not saying to stop being a Christian. NO.

I’m saying, these are the times, these are the moments where you need to stop making excuses and pray harder. Even if you feel like your heart isn’t in it, just pray and cry out to God. Go to church more, pray more, read the bible, talk to a pastor, and praise God.

Just know that even in these moments, God is there. He is waiting for you to come to Him. God is waiting for you. You just need to go to Him. Even if it takes a long time, God will still be there waiting for you with open arms.

Are you happy living your life as a Christian? If yes, can you answer why? If no, can you give an answer to why? Don’t just give surface answers, dig deep within yourself and really reflect and think.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you have a blessed day!

 

 

Matthew 5:13 – 16 “13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. 14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead, they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Leave a Reply

